Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | September 12, 2011

UN releases video of the General Assembly session against Nuclear Tests

UN Webcast has released the video recording of the entire UN General Assembly informal meeting held on 2 September 2011 to mark the International Day against Nuclear Tests (29 August).

Condemnation of nuclear testing and the support of the norm that bans all nuclear tests was a common ground for all  statements delivered by 21 representatives of States. Many representatives expressed their interest and support for the forthcoming 2011 CTBT Article XIV Conference to be held in New York on 23 September.

Asha-Rose Migiro, the Deputy Secretary-General of the UN, delivered a strong statement against nuclear testing. The Deputy Governor of East Kazakhstan gave a vivid account of the grave problems that continue to persist at the former nuclear test site at Semipalatinsk. At the end of the session, Daryl Kimball delivered a statement by the NGO community, strongly urging governments to take prompt action on this matter.

The CTBTO was represented by Annika Thunborg, the Spokesperson of the organization. In her statement, Thunborg reminded participants that more than 2,000 nuclear tests were conducted at over 60 different locations between 1945 and 1996, when the CTBT was adopted, poisoning the environment to the extent that future generations would continue to live with the legacy of nuclear testing for centuries.

Watch full video on UN Webcast here.

For easier reference find below the list of speakers along with the respective starting times in the video:

[Attention: For the first 04:30 there is no audio.]

00:00:00 –  General Assembly President Joseph Deiss (Switzerland)
00:07:00 –  Deputy Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro
00:10:05 – Ermek Kosherbayev, Deputy Governor of East Kazakhstan
00:19:51 – Enkhtsetseg Ochir, Chair of the Assembly’s Second Committee (Mongolia)
00:26:43 – Geoffrey Shaw, Director and Representative of the DG of the IAEA at the UN in New York
00:32:13 – Annika Thunborg, Spokesperson and Head of Public Information of the CTBTO
00:41:47 – Representative of the European Union
00:47:21 – Representative of Japan
00:49:29 – Representative of the Philippines
00:55:36 – Representative of the Islamic Republic of Iran
01:00:50 – Representative of Singapore
01:04:30 – Representative of the Russian Federation
01:08:03 – Representative of Morocco
01:12:32 – Representative of Egypt
01:15:37 – Representative of Costa Rica
01:21:12 – Representative of China
01:23:23 – Representative of Australia
01:26:41 – Representative of Cuba
01:29:15 – Representative of Brazil
01:33:39 – Representative of Norway
01:37:36 – Representative of Mexico
01:40:22 – Representative of Saudi-Arabia
01:45:49 – Representative of South Africa
01:50:28 – Representative of Ukraine
01:52:50 – Representative of Turkey
01:55:18 – Representative of New Zealand
02:01:30 – Representative of Finland
02:03:46 – Representative of Bangladesh
02:10:16 – NGO Statement by Daryl Kimball (Arms Control Association)

Press release by the UN with a summary of the statements here.
Press release by the UN with the statement by the UN Deputy Secretary-General here.
Selection of media reports on the event here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: