Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | December 6, 2011

Indonesian parliament ratifies the CTBT!

Indonesian FM Marty Natalegawa and the Executive Secretary of the CTBTO Tibor Tóth talk ahead of the vote on CTBT ratification (Photo: CTBTO Public Information)

The Indonesian parliament ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) in a vote earlier today.  The session was concluded at 12:00 Jakarta time (6 a.m.Vienna time) with a unanimous adoption of the CTBT.  Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa and CTBTO Executive Secretary Tibor Tóth were present during the vote.

Indonesia’s endorsement of the Treaty will receive official recognition when it is presented to the United Nations. One hundred and eighty-two countries have signed the Treaty, of which 155 have also ratified it. Indonesia will become the 156th country upon depositing its instrument of ratification to the UN.

In his speach before the Parliament  FM Natalegawa stated his country’s steadfast commitment to pursuing a world free of nuclear weapons and strongly urged the remaining Annex 2 States whose ratification is required for the Treaty to enter into force to follow suit Indonesia’s example and ratify the CTBT. “I am determined to ensure that Indonesia’s decision today will create momentum to encourage others who are still holding out to do the right thing. And the only right thing is to ratify the CTBT now, no more procrastination, no more delaying because it is right, it is proper and it makes a more secure world,” he said.

CTBTO Executive Secretary Tibor Tóth warmly welcomed the ratification as a great step forward that brings the CTBT closer to its entry into force and congratulated Indonesian parliamentarians on their decision. “By this historic decision, the gap keeping the Treaty from entering into force has been narrowed down to eight countries,” said Tóth. “This is the day when Indonesia reconfirmed its leadership, its leadership as a founder of the ASEAN and NAM. This leadership is about saying NO to nuclear weapons and it is about saying YES to the Treaty that is part of eliminating nuclear weapons,” he added.

The CTBT’s stringent entry-into-force provision proscribes that all 44 designated nuclear technology holder countries must sign and ratify the Treaty in order to bring it into law. With Indonesia’s ratification, 36 have now done so. The remaining ones are China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States.

Besides obtaining one more ratification by an Annex 2 State, Indonesia’s move is also important at the regional level. Indonesia currently chairs the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), whose 10 Member States have also concluded the Bangkok Treaty establishing the most comprehensive nuclear-weapon-free zone on Earth. The CTBT has been signed by all ASEAN Member States. Three – Brunei, Myanmar, and Thailand –  still have to ratify, as do Indonesia’s neighbours Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka and Timor Leste.

Read the story on Indonesia’s ratification on the CTBTO website here.

Read the CTBTO press release in: Arabic, Chinese, French, EnglishIndonesian, Russian, Spanish, Thai.

Find the official statements by the UN Secretary-General, by the President of the United States and by the Foreign Ministers of many other countries congratulating Indonesia and supporting the entry into force of the CTBT here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: