Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | February 12, 2013

VIDEO & AUDIO Available: CTBTO Press Conference on Declared North Korean Nuclear Test

12 February, Vienna, Austria


Broadcast quality video of the CTBTO’s press conference on North Korea’s declared nuclear test is available, free of rights, for broadcasters to download.

Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) Tibor Tóth, Director of the CTBTO’s International Data Centre (IDC) Dr. Lassina Zerbo and the Coordinator of the CTBTO International Data Centre, Dr  Jerry Carter,  briefed the international press corps gathered at the CTBTO’s headquarters in Vienna, Austria, at 11:00 CET Tuesday 12 February 2013.

B-Roll of three of the four technologies used by the CTBTO’s International Monitoring System (radionuclide, seismic, infrasound) as well as analysts processing data at the CTBTO’s International Data Centre in Vienna is also available.



Video (and shot sheet): Press Conference    

HD animation of how seismic stations work

HD animation of how radionuclide stations work 



A total of 183 States have signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT); of these 159 countries have also ratified the Treaty. To enter into force, however, the CTBT must be signed and ratified by 44 specific States. These States participated in the negotiations of the Treaty in 1996 and possessed nuclear power or research reactors at the time. Thirty-six of these States have ratified the Treaty, including the three nuclear weapon States -France, Russia and the United Kingdom. Of the eight remaining States, China, Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States have signed the Treaty, whereas the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, India and Pakistan have not yet signed it. The most recent “nuclear technology holder” State to ratify was Indonesia in February 2012.

A verification regime is being built to monitor compliance with the Treaty. Around 85 percent of the 337 facilities in the International Monitoring System are already in place; see interactive map. The Member States are provided with data collected by the monitoring stations, as well as data analyses prepared by the International Data Centre in Vienna, Austria. Once the Treaty has entered into force, an on-site inspection can be invoked in case of a suspicious event.

The North Korean nuclear tests on 9 October 2006 and 25 May 2009 were detected immediately by the CTBTO’s monitoring stations.


For matters relating to the footage or for broadcasters to arrange a studio interview with CTBTO experts, please contact:

Kirstie Gregorich Hansen

Public Information Officer

T +43 (1) 260 30 6540

M +43 (0) 699 1459 6540

For questions about the CTBT and the declared test, please contact:
Annika Thunborg,
Spokesperson and Chief, Public Information

T    +43 1 26030-6375


M  +43 699 1459 6375


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: