Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | October 24, 2013

Asia Pacific Leadership Network Calls for CTBT Ratification


The Asia Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament calls upon the United States, China, India and Pakistan to ratify the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). Following their most recent meeting on 13 October in Ho Chi Minh City the group adopted a declaration on nuclear disarmament.

The network calls upon the United States to “intensify efforts to secure Senate ratification of the CTBT as soon as possible” and to “negotiate a follow-on agreement to New START” with Russia. Moreover, it urges China, India and Pakistan to “ratify the CTBT without waiting upon the U.S. or any other necessary party to complete that process first, or at least seek to negotiate simultaneous ratification.”

The Asia Pacific Leadership Network is a group of 33  former senior political, diplomatic and military leaders from 14 countries around the region, such as Sha Zukang, China’s chief negotiator of the CTBT, Jaswant Singh, former Foreign Minister of India, and Jehangir Karamat, Pakistani former Chairman of Joint Chiefs of Staff. Nobuyasu Abe (Japan) and Jayantha Dhanapala (Sri Lanka), both former United Nations Under-Secretary-Generals for Disarmament Affairs, who are members of the Group of Eminent Persons (GEM), are also part of the group.

Read full statement here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: