Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | April 15, 2016

Media Advisory: CTBTO Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo in Moscow on 18 and 19 April

Update 19 April

Video of the press conference is now available for download.


Vienna, 15 April 2016

The Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), Lassina Zerbo, will travel to Moscow, Russia, on 18 and 19 April 2016. He will participate in a workshop on the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) organized by the Russian Center for the Energy and Security Studies (CENESS). Zerbo will be accompanied by Hans Blix, member of the CTBT Group of Eminent Persons (GEM), former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency and former Swedish Foreign Minister.

Media Opportunities

·         Press conference on 19 April 2016 at 15:00, Venue: International Information Agency “Russia Today”, Zubovskyi Boulevard 4, Moscow, 119021: details and registration:

·         Interviews: The Executive Secretary of the CTBTO, Lassina Zerbo, and Hans Blix, member of the CTBT Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) and former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency: Elisabeth Wächter (contact info below)

·         Images and background information on the meeting will be made available via flickr and the CTBTO Newsroom.

Zerbo will also meet with Deputy Foreign Minister Sergey Ryabkov and with Foreign Minister Igor Ivanov, President of the Russian International Affairs Council and also a member of the GEM. Zerbo will further visit the All-Russia Research Institute of Automatics.

Interview request with Lassina Zerbo and Hans Blix
Elisabeth Wächter
Chief, Public Information
T: +43 1 26030 6375                                                         
M: +43 699 1459 6375


The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions, thus hampering both the initial development of nuclear weapons as well as significant enhancements (h-bomb). The Treaty also helps prevent damage caused by nuclear testing to humans and the environment.

The CTBT has so far been signed by 183 States and ratified by 164. Its entry-into-force formula prescribes that 44 particular “nuclear technology holder” States need to ratify for it to enter into force. Eight of them have yet to ratify: China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States (the DPRK, India and Pakistan have also not yet signed the Treaty).

Russia signed the CTBT on 24 September 1996, the day it opened for signature. It ratified the Treaty on 20 June 2000. In a statement published 11 April 2016, Russian President Vladimir Putin said: “These countries’ unwillingness to become full parties to the treaty is cause for great regret, all the more so as some of these countries claim a leadership role and practically special powers in resolving global security issues. We once again call upon their leaders to demonstrate genuine political will and join the CTBT as soon as possible.”

A verification regime to monitor the globe for nuclear explosions is nearing completion with around 90 percent of the 337 planned International Monitoring System (IMS) facilities already in operation. Russia is the second-largest host country of IMS facilities after the United States. Currently, 27 of the 32 planned IMS facilities in Russia (see interactive map) are certified and sending data to the CTBTO in Vienna.

Connect with CTBTO on facebook, twitter, flickr and youtube.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: