Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | April 19, 2016

Media Advisory: Panel with UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon: 20 years on, the CTBT is still not in force


Vienna, 19 April 2016

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) cordially invites media to its 20th anniversary celebration on 27 April 2016 at the Vienna International Centre, Austria. Join CTBTO Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo for a panel discussion with:

Ban Ki-moon, UN Secretary-General

Guillaume Long, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ecuador (invited)

Kim Won-soo, UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs

Michael Spindelegger, former Vice Chancellor, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Finance, of Austria

Susan le Jeune D’Allegeershecque, Permanent Representative of the UK to the UN Vienna and member of the CTBT Group of Eminent Persons (GEM)


Sanam Shantyaei, International Affairs Editor, France 24

Julian Borger, World Affairs Editor, Guardian News & Media


Wednesday 27 April 2016, 09:45 – 12:30

Vienna International Centre, Board Room C



The panel will explore the following questions:


  • After 20 years, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty is still pending; what are the ramifications for global nuclear arms control efforts?
  • Is the international community doing enough about it?
  • What can concerned members of the public do – can the young generation effect change?

Questions to the panelists & suggestions: #CTBT20

Pre-registration by all journalists including those already accredited to the VIC is required. Media representatives should indicate the equipment they intend to bring (it is recommended to carry equipment by hand through Gate 1). Contact: Veronika Crowe-Mayerhofer, UN Information Service, Email:, Tel: (+43-1) 26060-3342. Please register by 16:00 on Monday 25 April 2016. Registration for non-media participants here.

We will provide photos at

The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions, thus hampering both the initial development of nuclear weapons as well as significant enhancements (h-bomb). The Treaty also helps prevent harmful radioactive releases from nuclear testing.

The CTBT has so far been signed by 183 States and ratified by 164 (map). However its demanding entry-into-force provision requires 44 particular “nuclear technology holder” States to ratify the Treaty for it to enter into force. Eight of them have yet to ratify: China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, and the United States (China, Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States have already signed the Treaty).
A verification regime to monitor the globe for nuclear explosions is nearing completion with around 90 percent of the 337 planned International Monitoring System facilities already in operation. The system has proved its capabilities to detect even small nuclear tests during the announced DPRK nuclear tests in 2006, 2009, 2013 and 2016.


For further information on the CTBT, please see – your resource on ending nuclear testing, or contact:

Elisabeth Wächter,
Chief of Public Information

T    +43 1 26030-6375
M    +43 699 1459 6375

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: