Posted by: ctbtonewsroom | September 22, 2010

Ministerial meeting to urge early entry into force of the CTBT

Press Release 22 September 2010

Vienna – On 24 September 1996, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test- Ban Treaty (CTBT) opened for signature and 14 years later it is approaching universal acceptance, supported by nearly all the countries of the world.

From 195 sovereign nations, 182 have signed the Treaty. It has been ratified by 153 of them.

Tomorrow, Thursday 23 September, on the eve of its anniversary, foreign ministers of States belonging to the Treaty will meet at the United Nations in New York to promote its early entry into force.

The Treaty was adopted in 1996 and requires the endorsement of China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States to enter into force. Indonesia has announced that it intends to ratify in the fall.

Tomorrow’s meeting, convened by Australia, Canada, Finland, France, Japan, Morocco, and the Netherlands, will produce a joint ministerial statement which will subsequently be opened for endorsement by other interested countries. (The statement will be posted on as soon as it is adopted.)

Read Press Release here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: